Friday, December 7, 2007


Danville Dans Aaron Weatherford (2006 - Mississippi State)and A.J. Griffin (2007 - Univ. of San Diego) have been named to the preseason watch list for the 2008 Brooks Wallace Award. The Wallace Award is presented to the nation's top collegiate baseball player in conjunction with the College Baseball Hall of Fame annual induction to be held July 3, 2008 on the campus of Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas.

Weatherford completed the 2007 campaign at Mississippi State as one of the SEC's top relief pitchers with five saves and a 1.82 ERA in 14 relief stints. He earned a pair of saves and did not allow a run in four clutch NCAA regional/super regional relief appearance. While with the Dans, Aaron sported a .083 ERA.

A first-team All-West Coast Conference selection, Griffin finished his freshman year at USD recording 11 saves to place second at the school in that category, trailing only Tony Perez's (13 saves in 2003). Griffin posted an overal record of 6-2 with a team-leading 2.70 ERA. While with the Dans, A.J. posted a 2.61 ERA with 43 strikeouts in a closing role and held the opponents to a .147 Batting Average.

The Wallace Award is dedicated to former Texas Tech player and assistant coach, Brooks Wallace (1977-1980, who succumbed to cancer at the young age of 27.

Other Dans alumni previously named to the watch list are Chris Choglan (Dans 2004 - Ole Miss) and Paul Coleman (Dans 2004 - Pepperdine.

No comments: